Remote job-search anxieties!

Hi all, (From Milwaukee, WI, USA)
I just wanted to post because I talk myself out of this.

Great news! I now have a Masters in Adult, Continuing, and Higher Education Administration and I also have a Bachelor’s in Management Information Systems. Bad news, I am stuck because of finances are not in order and I need to find something fast, or I will be living on the streets. However, I believe I have the skills to get out of this mess.

After receiving my degree, I am done with Milwaukee. It’s cold, nothing is here for me anymore, but I must find a job. Whenever I think about working remote. I get overwhelmed with anxiety. On top of that, I have limited experiences in the new career I am seeking. E-learning management, facilitating, training and development, and other related jobs. Of course, I can find something local, but then I was thinking why not put myself out there and get a remote job, so I can be mobile. I am just used to going to a location, so I am nervous. My body, mind, and soul is rejecting the idea of signing up with a company here in this city!

The career goal is to eventually leave the U.S. and just live my life!
How did you learn to trust yourself enough to stick to your remote-work schedule?

What are some tips to stay grounded during your remote-job search? Are there jobs that are kind to those that are making career changes? Keyword recommendations when finding job for those new and nervous about working remote?

1 Like

Hi and welcome!

I am new too and also making a career change. I used to work in primary school education. Unfortunately, working in education is difficult due to my constant moving around which is why I am making a career change and hopefully I can land a permanent remote job where my location won’t matter. So I’m on the same boat.