Starting from scratch

Hi everyone

I was wondering if you could give me some advice on if and how I can start a life as a digital Nomad. I have worked in a laboratory for the last six years (as a PhD fellow on biological science) but I quit my job. I have not interest in science or doing that kind of work anymore. I have always wanted to travel and have certain independence. The thing is, all remote work I have seen requires experience in the field. No matter which one (virtual assistant, marketing, data analyst, etc). I am not a developer, or a graphic designer or anyof that… so I’m really complicated, ain’t I?

I’m all ears… Or eyes.

Thank you

Mary

2 Likes

Hi @Maryclaire! I am so so glad you are reaching out to us here in our remote community. :heart:
It is great to hear that you are looking to emerge in the remote workforce/digital nomad lifestyle.

If you’re having some trouble knowing where to begin, I highly suggest you watch a couple of @Mag’s YouTube webinars on the Pangian youtube channel. Here is the link so you can take a look:

There are amazing webinars on How to get Started if you never worked remotely, how to switch industries, resume/application secrets, and more. You’ll definitely get some valuable insight into the lifestyle! :blush:

Hope this helps! Let me know if there’s anything else you need.

3 Likes

Hi Stevie!

Thank you for your reply and the tips. I watched the videos, they are very interesting. But I have to be honest and it still seems a little bit utopic to me. I had already done many of the things she proposed and they are really good tips, only they are not working for me lately. I live in Argentina and everything is so complicated here. Travel seems impossible (no job and the currency exchange rates 1 usd = 38 pesos argentinos). So online paid courses are also expensive to all of us.

I think I made the right choice by leaving my previous job but it’s gettin harder than I thought. I will keep trying anyway. I always do.

Cheers